Culture Shock?

There are several stages of culture shock that we anticipate going through as we settle into life here in Lebanon.  From excitement over all the new sights, sounds, smells and tastes to questioning how in the world people can live like this, to acceptance, and eventually taking on and loving our new home and culture.  I think we are still in the first phase – it all feels like a big adventure right now, but that doesn’t stop me from missing some really random – and some not so random – things from home.

Thought I’d share some with you… to help you get a better picture of life here. :)

I miss…

…wearing clothes – jeans especially – that have been dried in a dryer

…not limiting my grocery shopping to what I can carry on the walk home

…Cheez-its (actually, I did see these at the store the other day, but at nearly $10 a box, couldn’t actually bring myself to buy them…. between C and I they would be gone in a day!)

…carpeted floors

…Target!!!

…Taco Bell – which Caleb says isn’t real Mexican food, but nothing beats a Cheesy Gordita Crunch!

…worshiping in English

…LOST!  (okay, I realize that it doesn’t even come back on in the States until January… but I am anticipating missing it a lot!)

…and last but certainly not least, seeing my friends’ baby bumps, chatting on the phone with my mom about nothing, calling my sister to give her a hard time when USC loses… I miss my friends and family!!  So… when are you coming to visit??? :)

posted by: nicolette

4 thoughts on “Culture Shock?

  1. Hey guys, I know that live is different there, and I can feel you even though we have Target and Taco bell here I still miss my home back in KZ sometimes. My friends, my mom and brother.
    We will be praying for you!!!
    God is real im sure you can tell that more than anything right now.

  2. Hello, I stumbled upon your blog while trying to figure out if Spinneys would deliver to my area (on their facebook page). I have been reading through your posts for about half an hour now :) Some of the things you mentioned here are not really Lebanon specific. I am Lebanese and have lived here most of my life. We do have a dryer at home, we do our grocery shopping by car (like everyone I know here!) and carpeted floors are available, if you choose. You could watch Lost online, or even better, get the series from your nearest DVD store. Finally, and what I am mainly writing this comment for, I am not sure what is your religion, but there’s an English mass every Sunday at Capucins in Mtayleb at noon (they also do Arabic and French masses). I only found a facebook page online: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Les-Capucins-Mtayleb/570214999726635 I know about it because it is in my area, but I am sure that if you ask around, you will find a nearby mass in English. I can see you have been around for quite some time since, but still, let me know if you need any help adapting.

    • Haha, thanks so much for your comment! I saw that someone was reading this post and was almost embarrassed by it haha because if I was writing it today, it would be totally different. But on the other hand, these were things that I really did miss almost 8 years ago when I wrote the post! It’s funny how things change, though… we still don’t use a dryer at home, but I don’t miss it anymore and actually prefer line drying my clothes. We didn’t have a car for the first two years we lived here, so yes, for me, grocery shopping was all by foot, and now I enjoy having my groceries delivered. Really the post wasn’t a commentary on life in Lebanon as much as it was MY life after living her for just one month.

      Thanks for the church recommendation! We actually work with a church here in Hamra… and even though I can fully understand the worship and the sermon, I do still miss church in English, although you are right, there are several options to choose from!

      Thanks for reading and for commenting! :)

Leave a Reply

