Re: Night at the Roxbury

I read a prayer recently that someone posted on their blog (can’t remember which one, sorry!) that quoted John Piper…in the prayer, he prayed that God would help us to grasp the spectacle of our sin, and through that, the grandness of God’s holiness.  “Spectacle” struck me as such a strange word choice. The dictionary defines “spectacle” as: a visually striking performance or display. To see sin in such a way really is uncomfortable.  Really uncomfortable.  But truly grasping it for what it is – truly grasping our situation for what it is – makes God’s holiness and the hope available through Jesus so striking.

One of the blogs I really enjoy following is written by Hannah.  She recently wrote a post titled “Night at the Roxbury” about some of the chaos of living and working where she does.  In that post,  she reflects on the feeling of hopelessness, and how that leads her to hope. Right on, Hannah! I think it’s really truly in those hopeless kinds of situations that really begin to grasp “hope.”

When we are able to see the brokenness of things and recognize it as broken, as not how that thing was meant to be, we have arrived at hope. May we never settle for brokenness…

(by the way, anyone recognize the Piper paraphrase?  I’d like to find that again…)

posted by: caleb

2 thoughts on “Re: Night at the Roxbury

  1. Hi There! Found you at CoffeeGirl, although I’ve seen your website once before, but don’t know where from… someone to someone to someone. Welcome to Beruit. I’m not there, so I guess I can’t say that, but welcome anyway.

    Sin – well, there has been times recently when I think I’ve been a spectacle myself in sinning. Although I still would have a hard time admitting that I wasn’t justified, I think!

    Hopelessness… yeah, got a lot of that recently, too. But it is an interesting thing you quoted – when we get hopeless, then we also begin to hope. I think it is at times true… there are times I give up all hope and tell God, “well, You’re all I have to hope in right now!”, and He looks back at me with a quiet, rebuking humor and asks, “And that is a problem, little one?!”

    No, not a problem. I just forgot what a big God You were.

  2. Thanks for the comment, Ellie!

    The beginning of hope is the acknowledgment that things as they are now is not how they were meant to be/will be someday. Way to go for recognizing in whom your hope should ultimately rest!

    -Caleb

Leave a Reply

