customer service that really boosts sales

There have been a couple times in my life where I’ve gone into a store looking for something, but when I have questions or need help, either there is not a salesperson in sight or the one I do find is rude and totally unhelpful.  Generally it leaves me in a huge conundrum.  Should I leave based on principle or buy this thing that I really want/need regardless of the lousy customer service shown me?  Whichever one I decide, I usually am walking out the store kicking myself.

Here, I don’t have that problem.  The pendulum has swung to the other end of the spectrum, and yet I still find myself walking out of stores kicking myself.

Our neighbors who we really like just had a baby a few days ago.  If you know me at all, you know how much I love shopping for baby clothes, and I’ll take any excuse I can get!  So I went looking for a little outfit for baby Karim… thinking I’d get something in the 6-12 months range for this summer.  Our language teacher told me about a little store close by that has good clothes and good deals, so I started there.

I went in and started browsing, but, just like in every store in Beirut, I started feeling really uncomfortable with the saleslady literally breathing over my shoulder.  So,  I told her our friends had a baby boy and I wanted to buy him something, but not something very small that he could wear after some months.  She then proceeded to pull off every piece of clothing from the racks and describe each one to me in great deal… what material, where it was made (a very important detail here), what size, and on and on and on.

She was super helpful.  Customer service out the wazoo.  Problem was, I really didn’t like any of the clothes.  But I felt so bad that she was waiting on me hand and foot and I felt bad about just leaving her with her entire stock off the hangers on the counter and not even buying anything…

So I bought something.  Winter pajamas for 0-3 months.  Exactly what I did NOT want.

Although she had absolutely no idea, whatever “customer service training” she had taken really worked on me.

posted by: nicolette

Leave a Reply

