a chai is totally worth some tears

I’ve never been much of a crier.  Not to say I don’t cry, but usually it’s about big things (and yes, videos of soldiers coming home from Iraq and surprising their children definitely count as big).

Not sure if it’s the pregnancy or living in a foreign country far from home, but I find myself crying at the strangest times.  A few weeks ago I saw Blue Bell mint chocolate chip ice cream in the grocery store.  I cried.  Didn’t buy any, just cried.  Although it’s more of a laughing with tears because I am laughing at the silliness of my crying at the same time I am actually crying.  Generally Caleb is laughing too.  :)

Then in church last week one of the girls out of nowhere was like, “Oh Miss Nicolette, thank you so much because you played with us the WHOLE DAY yesterday.”  Again I cried.  And laughed at the same time.  Gosh I love those girls.

Today I was out shopping for a birthday present and the toy store just happens to be right next door to Starbucks.  I don’t really love Starbucks here.  There are a couple non-coffee drinks that I really like at home, but they don’t have them here, so we don’t often go there.  But for some reason I decided to stop in and low and behold: new item on the menu.

As of Monday, Starbucks Beirut now has chai.  This may be the greatest day of my life.  On a random side note, it’s been four days now and I am the only person who has ever ordered it from them, hopefully that isn’t a sign of things to come.

And as I walked home drinking my grande chai creme frappacino with whip creme, I’ll admit, I might have almost cried a bit.

posted by: nicolette

8 thoughts on “a chai is totally worth some tears

  1. Yea for familiar chai’s!! Big hugs, Nicolette! Those pregnancy hormones keep the Kleenex people in business!

  2. Pregnancy and being “over there”. Definitly worth some tears. I love chai, too, but never had Starbucks. We usually make our own.

  3. Now I know why you and I are such good friends! I love the smell of coffee but, can’t stand the taste. So, I’ve been hooked on chai lattes from Starbucks for a long time. My ultimate favorites is a grande 5 pump soy chai latte with no water. YUM!!! Since we don’t have Starbucks or a place that serves anything close to chai lattes here Bangladesh, please remember to have one for me the next time. And, if it makes you feel any better, I’m not pregnant but, I find myself cry at the most random things these days! So, go ahead and cry…it’s OK!!!

  4. That is hillarious, because I love Chai too. Especially iced Chai in the summer when it is SO hot. I always pack a can or 2 of powdered, sugar-free, caffeine chai tea that is my real treat overseas!! Glad God blessed you with yummy Chai at the Starbucks. Isn’t He good??!

Leave a Reply

