5 minute chocolate cake

“Making visits” is a huge part of the Lebanese culture.  You can expect to have friends or neighbors stop by at any time for a visit, and you are expected to serve juice, some kind of snack, and coffee.  If it’s near a mealtime, then lunch or dinner would be served.  I’m always amazed how people just seem to have cake and juice on-hand…. I could make a plate of brownies or a cake and between Caleb and me, it would be gone in two days… if even that.  And juice definitely doesn’t last long enough in this house to keep much of a stock.  Luckily for us, we haven’t had too many surprise visitors.  If someone is going to stop by, they usualy give us a call, which at least gives us time to run downstairs and buy some juice, but I always feel guilty when I don’t have fresh cake or something on hand.  (Really, how do people do this?!?!)

So I found this recipe for a five minute chocolate cake… haven’t tried it out on any visitors yet, but it’s nice to know I can use it in a pinch… it really does only take five minutes.  It’s not the moistest, most delicious cake ever, but it’s pretty good.  It’s especially nice for those, “Mmm, I really want to have some chocolate cake” moments….. oh wait, is that just me?  :)

Anyways, here’s the recipe, in case anyone wants to have a little afternoon (or midnight) snack….

4 tablespoons flour
4 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa
1 egg
3 tablespoons milk
3 tablespoons oil
3 tablespoons chocolate chips (optional)
A small splash of vanilla extract


Mix the flour, sugar and cocoa.  Blend in the egg.  Add the milk, oil, choc chips and vanilla.  Put into a microwave-safe large mug or small bowl (like a cereal bowl) and microwave on high for 3 minutes……  and eat! :)

posted by: nicolette

2 thoughts on “5 minute chocolate cake

  1. I have a great “from scratch” chocolate cake recipe that is great too. It probably takes 10 minutes to make…maybe 15 but it is easy and super moist EVERY TIME. Let me know if you want the recipe…it’s just from my Betty Crocker recipe book.

    I’ll have to try your recipe…I love EASY baking…and eating, of course.

Leave a Reply

