It’s always laundry day in the Hutch house!

Laundry has always been one of those chores that I really hate doing.  My first two years in college I had a really sweet set-up… My roomie did the laundry for us both and I paid for it all (I think it was a pretty sweet deal… you’ll have to ask Sarah what she thinks of it…).  After I started doing my own laundry, I would put off doing it until it was absolutely necessary – I could go about 3 weeks before I needed clean clothes!  Then I’d spend a whole morning or afternoon washing and drying everything at once.  My closet has been downsized since moving to Beirut, but I could still stretch out the chore a bit… until Isla came along!

Now, my darling, spitting, peeing, pooping, drooling baby guarantees that I never have enough clean clothes.  She and I both go through at least two outfits a day, not to mention all the spit rags that need to be washed.  Needless to say, laundry has almost become a daily chore.  Not just because of the sheer amount of clothing I have to wash, but the whole process just takes longer here.

First of all, we have a nice little washer, it fits a pretty good amount of clothing.  Each wash cycle takes about 2.5 hours.  I have to plan when I start a load to be sure that it will be finished before our daily power cuts, because the washer uses up too many amps to run on the generator.  Today our power will go out at 3pm, so the last load of the day needs to be in the washer no later than 12:30.

This is my favorite part about doing laundry – my new clothes sorter!  I have always wanted one of these and finally found one about a month ago!  Now I don’t have to take up the whole family room floor sorting clothes every time I want to wash something… just grab a bag and start!  Each of these bags can fit about two loads.  They are unusually empty in this picture.  :)

Dryers are not super common here, so we line dry everything.  During the cold, rainy winter it sometimes took 3 or more days for a pair of jeans to dry!  Now that spring is here, we can put the line on the balcony in the sun, and most things get dry in a day.

Then comes the folding.  I’m getting better about actually folding things and putting them away straight from the line… mostly because I don’t really have a place to dump them otherwise.  Here’s the sad part… after a few loads one day, here are the piles of folded laundry.  Caleb’s on one side of the couch, Isla’s and mine on the other….  ahhh, life with a baby!  :)

Just another day in the life of us in Beirut!  :)

posted by: nicolette

3 thoughts on “It’s always laundry day in the Hutch house!

  1. so true–you’ve certainly captured the essence of doing laundry in the middle east! ;-) BTW-I need to find out where you got the laundry sorter…sweet!!

  2. Yes, mountains of laundry! We can go for 5 days approx. until the kids start running out of clothes. I’m ready for a season change so we can use their bigger summer clothes; they grow too fast. Our wash machine rests one day of the week. :) We have to set the timer to add fabric softener at the right time. AND we do have a dryer. Scarce here too, but we know one store that sells them and we splurged. Well worth the splurge in my narrow opinion! :)

    You’re baby girl is adorable!

    Kristin

Leave a Reply

