Apples, Potatoes and Pears, Oh my!

For several reasons, I decided to make Isla’s baby food when she started eating solids about a month and a half ago.  For one, it’s much much cheaper – one jar of (imported) baby food here is almost $2… compared to $2 for two kilos of carrots that last a month!  And while it takes time to prepare, it is actually more convenient than buying it at the store… only because walking to the store and carrying bags full of baby food jars is definitely not a fun task.

It also seems healthier to make her food.  Now, those of you who know me even a little, know that I am not all about organic or anything – I love Cheez-its and Twinkies and all that junk as much as the next person.  But it’s nice to know exactly what is going in her little belly… no preservatives or additives, just fruits and veggies.

If you are interested, there is a great website that talks about when to introduce each kind of food as well as different ways of cooking/preparing foods for baby.  You can check it out at: http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com

Some fruits, if they are ripe enough, are soft enough to just smash up and feed… avocado, bananas, apricots…

Others need to be worked on a bit before they are baby ready.  I spend about an hour each week cooking, pureeing and freezing her food… it’s actually pretty simple.

First, I cut up and either steam or bake the fruit or veggie until it is soft.  And actually, I discovered that you can buy frozen fruits or veggies and just cook them according to the package directions.  Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to actually find any frozen fruit here, but frozen green beans and peas have worked great so far!

After the fruit/veggies are soft, I use my immersion stick blender thingy (what is that thing called, anyways?) to puree it, adding water to get the consistency I want.

Then, I spoon the puree into an ice cube tray and freeze it.

After it is frozen, I put the cubes into a ziploc bag in the freezer.  Then when it’s time for Isla to eat, I just pop out a couple of cubes, defrost them, and have a very happy baby!

2 thoughts on “Apples, Potatoes and Pears, Oh my!

  1. Love the description. Takes me back to my own babyfood making days in Vienna in 1984 when Ben turned 6 months. FYI-when she eats more than an ice cube or two, use muffin tins. You’re welcome! :-)

Leave a Reply

