NOW it feels like fall!

I’ve been seeing all these status updates on Facebook about all things fall –  pumpkin spice lattes, leaves changing colors, crisp temperatures.

We don’t really have that here (yet!).  The temps have still been hitting the 90’s, there aren’t enough trees to notice if leaves are changing, and pumpkin spice anything hasn’t quite been invented.

I’ve been trying to create the feeling of fall a little on my own.  I made some pumpkin apple bread the other day.  We’ve been eating soup and chili (and sweating while doing it), but it still feels like summer to me.

Until the other day.  I was walking in town and caught a whiff of something and immediately I felt like it was finally autumn.  Isn’t it weird how smells do that?  It’s not something I ever smelled before moving to Lebanon, and if you asked me what fall smelled like, I would never have thought of this.  But when I smelled it, I momentarily forgot that it was still hot and sunny and decided I needed some hot chocolate.

So, what’s my fall trigger, you ask?

for the record, my mom actually took this picture last year.  I didn’t have my camera with me, but a post is always better with a picture… so I figured an old one was better than none!

The man on the corner has started roasting chestnuts!  Betcha didn’t see that one coming!  Me either.  :)

 

3 thoughts on “NOW it feels like fall!

  1. Roasted chestnuts are abundant here this time of year too! (except it is a little cooler than where you are) Have you had them yet? I didn’t try them last year, but maybe this year I will. They smell good. The smell is often mixed with cigarette smoke here as it seems (from your picture) it is there too.

    • Not yet this year, be we had them a few times last year – they are pretty good. And yes, cig smoke flavors just about everything here!

  2. I think Caleb did a great job last year roasting them for us. It was my first experience with roasted chestnuts and they were yummy!

Leave a Reply

