My brilliant idea three months too late

Fruits and vegetables in Lebanon are very seasonal.  We were actually a bit overwhelmed when we went to a grocery store in the States last month and saw ALL of the fruits available at the same time!

We have wonderful fruits here during the summer… peaches, plums, cherries, strawberries… and all for a really good price.  But once the season is over, you are hard pressed to find a single strawberry at the veggie stands, and if you are lucky enough to find one, you will pay an arm and a leg for it.

The winters are tough.  Oranges, oranges, oranges.  Now, I like oranges, but variety is good in life too.  I miss good fruits in the winter.

Right now it is apple, persimmon and avocado season.  You can generally find avocados year round, but they are imported, not ripe and super expensive.  But right now, they are only $2 a kilo.  So being a good guacamole lover, I bought three kilos to smash up and freeze so we can have guac whenever we want for the next few months.

Cue sound of palm smacking forehead!

Why in the world didn’t I think of this sooner??? Even in the midst of all my cutting, steaming, pureeing and freezing fruits and veggies for Isla, it didn’t even cross my mind to freeze some fruits for us for the winter!  I feel like that lazy grasshopper who had to beg from the ant because he played all summer (is that the right story?).  Anyways, I’m totally bummed I didn’t think of this three months ago, but am taking advantage of my brilliant idea as much as I can now.  I currently have 3 kilos of avocado, 2 pumpkins and a whole lot of apples to be frozen.  Pumpkin pie with a side of guacamole, anyone???

On an only sort of related note, here’s what Isla thinks of the pumpkins…

3 thoughts on “My brilliant idea three months too late

  1. That was awesome!!!! Thank you for recording this. I love the part when she was sitting in calebs lap and was pushing the pumpkin off. Sooo cute. I love her.

Leave a Reply

