Lebanese reactions

I’ve had several people ask me what the reaction is here to the death of Osama bin Laden.  While I had a few people tell me Monday morning to be extra careful, it doesn’t seem to be a big flash point here.  We are more concerned about what is going on in Syria – that is and will definitely affect Lebanon greatly.  As far as reactions the recent events, I’m far more worried about being in the States in the aftermath of his death than here in Lebanon.

I did read this article on The Daily Star’s website, and I think it gives really interesting insight into the Lebanese psyche.  I’ve blogged about their penchant for conspiracy theories before, and this is just another example.

“It doesn’t make a difference, it’s all a conspiracy theory because [his death] is too timely and won’t add anything. [The fact that] there are revolutions in the Arab world [now], they [the Americans] said let’s kill Osama bin Laden, it’s a news story.”

I’m not sure exactly what I would have said had the write of the article asked me my for opinion.  Oh, I have lots of thoughts, but many others have written them down in a much better way.  Here’s a recent favorite of mine, if you are looking for something to read.  Or here’s another.
I’ll close this blog with a quote I saw going around facebook and really liked (and no, it’s not that fake Martin Luther King Jr. quote!! that’s been making the rounds):

“I can only think of one death that brought the world peace…and we celebrated that a week ago.”

Leave a Reply

