It’s raining, it’s pouring

Lebanon has a rainy season and a dry season… and we are in the midst of rainy season right now.  It pretty much feels like it’s been raining for the past two months straight.

Down in Beirut, our streets get pretty flooded when it rains really hard, but since we walk everywhere, we just put on our rainboots and splash our way to wherever we need to get.

Last week, I had to drive up the mountain a bit to take Isla to a birthday party.  I was amazed at how bad the road was.  I was on the Damascus Road, which is one of the main highways in Lebanon, and pretty much the only way to get up this particular mountain.  In several places, the water was literally a river flowing across road.  Several feet of water, mud and rocks just raging across the road and down the side of the mountain.

All the warnings about flash floods from living in Arizona were in my head, but there is no way around it.  If you want to get up or down the mountain, this is the road you take.  What really shocked me is that cars weren’t slowing down.

I tried to get a picture, but obviously wasn’t going to risk looking through the camera or actually focusing on anything… so this what I was able to get.

Just another reason I am really glad we live down in the city… I can’t imagine having to drive this road very often!

Leave a Reply

