Blessings

I always pass over blogs that post song lyrics, and I swore up and down I would never do it…. but here I go.

A few months ago, I fell in love with this song.  It drives Caleb crazy, but when I find a new song I like, I generally listen to it over and over again on repeat… oh, with the volume turned way up.  :)  So this is what I’ve been listening to lately:

What if your blessings come through raindrops?
What if your healing comes through tears?
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near?
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise?
 
When friends betray us,
when darkness seems to win we know
the pain reminds this heart
that this is not, this is not our home.
 

Life just seemed to be going so well… and this song was a good reminder to me that God is good when things are good, but we aren’t promised good all the time.  Now that we are in a bit of a valley, this song speaks to my heart in an even more powerful way.

The song is called “Blessings” by Laura Story.  Not sure how popular she is in the States right now… so this might be an old song to some of you, but new to others.  Enjoy… and maybe it will speak to you as it has to me.

7 thoughts on “Blessings

  1. Nicolette, thank you for sharing this song. It is very moving. This last month has been tough for our family, especially for Ken and Heidi and this song was a real comfort. Thanks for being transparent at a time that must be one of the toughest times you have ever faced. I’m so glad your mom is there to support all four of you. We are praying that Ruby will be able to come home very soon and that your family will get back to some type of “normal.”

    • Thanks for praying, Joyce. I can’t even imagine how difficult of a time this is for you and your family. Glad that this song was able to comfort your heart, even if just in a small way!

Leave a Reply

