The perfect city shoe

I’m on the hunt.

We live in the heart of Beirut.  One of the things I love most about our neighborhood is that we can pretty much walk anywhere.  And we do.  We walk to school, work, church, the store.  We walk to the park, cafes and sometimes just to shimm ilhawa.  We walk several kilometers a day, nearly every day.

Now if I really wanted to blend in, I’d be wearing these.

But, let’s be realistic… with my freckles, blond 3 year old, and bald baby, I’m never gonna blend in.  So why break my ankle trying?

So, for the past few years I’ve been searching for the perfect city shoe.  I need a shoe that is comfortable as I dodge potholes while pushing a stroller or wearing Ruby in the wrap.  But at the same time, this is Beirut, where a flip flop is considered a house shoe that should never be worn in public, so I need something with a little style.  Thankfully ballet flats are back in fashion, so there are lots of choices.

I thought I had found a winner in my Toms.  I bought some and my mom brought them when she visited for Ruby’s birth.  Super comfortable.  Really, super super comfortable.  And cute.  Plus they come in tons of colors and patterns and who can complain about a company that donates a pair of shoes for every pair you buy.

But after seven months of walking Beirut, these are my Toms.

Still comfortable, but if they are only gonna last me half a year, totally not worth it.

So I’m on the hunt again for the perfect city shoe.  Any suggestions?

One thought on “The perfect city shoe

  1. I recommend anything by Keen or Merrell for comfort and quality. Check out: http://www.merrell.com/US/en-US/Product.mvc.aspx/29020W/69303/Womens/Barefoot-Life-Delight-Glove-Wool?dimensions=0 I would think any ballet flat type shoe would wear out quickly though with the amount of walking you do because they just don’t have a lot of sole…. kind of like starting with bald tires :^) So maybe you should go with the cheapest shoes you can find that are cute and comfortable! Next time have your mom bring you something from Target? :)

Leave a Reply

