Dreamsicle ice cream: an almost summer’s treat

Winter is officially over, and I’m pretty sure we skipped over spring.  But the seasonal fruits and veggies didn’t get the message.  Strawberry season is just ending, so we’re stuck eating unripened almonds and plums (which for some odd reason, Lebanese love) while we wait for the bounty of summer fruits… peaches, cherries, watermelon… I’m drooling at the thought!

Oranges are pretty much on their way out.  So I grabbed a few kilos for one last batch of this super fresh ice cream I discovered this winter when oranges were pretty much the only fruit we had on hand.

It’s light and fresh and reminds me of childhood summers in California for some reason.  And it’s ice cream, so on that basis alone it’s a winner.

IMG_5966

2 cups fresh squeezed orange juice
2 cups ice cream base (I used half milk/half cream)
2/3 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla

Mix well and churn in an ice cream maker.  If you don’t have an ice cream maker, I’ve read you can put it in the freezer and stir it every 15 minutes, but I’ve never actually tried that.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Dreamsicle ice cream: an almost summer’s treat

Leave a Reply

