Follow me, Mama

In honor of International Babywearing Week, we have been running contests and games in our Babywearing Beirut facebook group all week. Our challenge for Thursday is to #EmbraceYourVoice and share what babywearing means to me. I love babywearing for many reasons. Of course it’s incredibly convenient. No floors would have been swept or dinners made in those early weeks and months if I hadn’t had the ability to wear my babies. Traversing the streets of Beirut with a stroller is a full contact sport, so babywearing allows me to actually leave my house. But more than that, babywearing is a huge part of my parenting style. Call it attachment parenting, child led, granola or whatever, I love the kind of parent that babywearing allows me to be. So to embrace my voice, I’m reblogging a post I wrote a few months ago… not about babywearing specifically, but about my parenting as a whole, of which babywearing is a huge part.

beautiful feet: the blog version

As I start this post Luka is sleeping in his bed.  I say start because I have no illusions that I’ll actually finish it in one sitting, but it’s significant that he’s in his bed.  Significant because he hasn’t slept in his bed in nearly a week.  His daytime naps he’s been wrapped close to my chest, my movements calming him and our hearts beating in sync.  At night, he’s been snuggled in the crook of my arm, easy access to his milk and secure with his little body touching mine.  But on a whim, I tried laying him down in his bed when he fell asleep this morning.  And 45 minutes later, he is still there.

DSC_4619

As I was nursing him to sleep, I realized that I couldn’t actually remember the last time Ruby nursed.  It wasn’t yesterday.  Was it the day before?  Or was that the night she…

View original post 482 more words

Leave a Reply

