The Muslim response to terror

There is no clearer place to see the depravity of man than in the comments section of online articles.  I tell myself every time I get sucked in to them that I should never have started reading in the first place. But to be quite honest, when stuck under a nursing baby, I’ll pretty much read anything.  Especially when my Candy Crush lives are used up.

One question that I see come up over and over again is something along the lines of this: If terrorism doesn’t represent Islam, where are all the Muslims condemning the terrorist attacks in {insert city here}??

The fact of the matter is, every time a terrorist act is committed in the name of Islam, many many Muslims speak out against it.  I hear the horror and dismay in the voices of my friends, and a quick Google search will show you countless instances where Muslim leaders have also spoken out against terrorism.

Yet for some reason, we Christians can’t seem to understand that an extremist group might not actually represent an entire religion.  We can easily brush aside the murder of abortion doctors, and I don’t know, slavery, as not representative of our faith, even though the perpetrators used the Bible as rationalization for their awful acts.  For some reason, we continue to compare the best in Christianity to the worst in Islam.  Not fair.

A friend of mine forwarded an email to me that she received from her association following the terrorist attacks in California last week.  They’ve posted it publicly on their website as well, and I think it’s important to share.

From the Association of Islamic Charitable Projects:

We strongly and decisively denounce these extremist actions and the underlying dogmas that endorse this blind violence that cannot be accepted under any nomenclature

You can read the full denouncement here.

Can it get any more clear than that?  This is just one of many associations and groups who has condemned the recent terror attacks, but I think it’s important to get it out there for everyone to see that Muslim leaders are in fact talking about it.  But beyond the leaders, the Muslims who are denouncing terror are in the cubicle next to yours, serving with you on the PTA, living next door.  I suspect we just don’t want to hear it.

7 thoughts on “The Muslim response to terror

  1. Thanks for this concise, spot-on post. Terrorism has been on my mind much lately and I’ve written a few posts. Please don’t regard this as a plug, but you might enjoy / appreciate the thoughts. Peace and best, John

  2. Yes, not all Muslims support terror. Some have admitted there is a problem in the House of Islam. I’m curious, have you ever actually read the Qur’an to see what it really says? Or studied world history? Or read about Ishmael and Esau in the Bible? I highly recommend it. I write to them about God’s plan for the descendants of Ishmael and Esau. And pray for them to find Jesus.

    • Thanks for your comment.
      Yep, I have read the Qur’an, or at least the English translation of it. I’ve only read a bit of it in Arabic. I agree, it’s really helpful.

  3. Pingback: WorldVenture | What It’s Like Living Among Refugees in Lebanon

Leave a Reply

