Brussel sprouts to the rescue!

We are definitely in the “seriously how is it not summer yet” phase of life.  Isla actually cried about having to do her Arabic homework the other night, which if you know her at all is a pretty obvious clue that she’s done for the year.

When I’m in a good rhythm I plan our meals for the week and by Monday night have most of them prepped, but these days I find myself staring at our sad pantry shelves bemoaning the fact that my family just ate yesterday and now I’m supposed to feed them again.  Nothing sounds good, I don’t feel like cooking, and even our go-to’s just sound blah.

Then I discovered this recipe for a skillet dish that I thought sounded promising.

Promising doesn’t even begin to describe it.  Of course in true Nicolette-style I changed it quite a bit, so I can’t technically vouch for the original recipe.  But my version?  It is so so so so good.  And I didn’t even think I liked brussel sprouts.

The key is in the meat.  The original recipe uses chicken and bacon.  We don’t really get bacon that often and the first time I made it with chicken, it didn’t add much.  Chicken is expensive so when I do use it, we wanna at least know we are eating it.  So instead of the chicken and bacon, I used some random frozen Tesco sausage I found at Spinneys a few weeks ago.  Super flavorful and really the star of the dish.  So find some (sausage I mean) and make this:

IMG_1060

I know, I know, it’s not much to look at.  But I guarantee you will like it.  Even if you think you don’t like brussel sprouts.

First cook the meat in a little oil in a skillet.  How much?  I don’t know, however much you want.

Remove the cooked meat but leave the juices and add two big chopped sweet potatoes (we have the white ones here),  2 handfuls of brussel sprouts (you can cut them or throw them in whole), and a chopped onion.  Cook until the potatoes start to get soft, stirring occasionally.

Add a chopped apple, 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp oregano, and a cup of water.  Stir until the water evaporates.  Add the sausage, cover and cook until the potatoes are cooked through.

Then eat it.  All of it.  Because you won’t be able to stop.  It’s that good.

One thought on “Brussel sprouts to the rescue!

Leave a Reply

